Apple Pay Logo

Apple Pay Expanding to Seven European Countries Soon

Apple Pay looks set to have a big expansion in Europe over the coming weeks. In all, it looks like seven new countries will get the pay service over the course of April and early May. Apple has been clear that their intention is to have Apple Pay in 40 regions by the end of 2019 and this expansion will go a long way in making that happen.

Earlier in the week I told you about Apple Pay coming to Austria. Now, thanks to Tweets from other banks, you can add Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Estonia, Greece, and Romania to the list. This follows up on expansions that happened earlier this year and late in 2018. In February, support for the service came to the Czech Republic and two major banks were added in France. This followed support finally arriving in Germany in December 2018.

Apple considers their Pay service a pillar of the services they offer, highlighting it in Monday’s “It’s Show Time” event. During that keynote, they highlights that merchant acceptance is growing globally. Here in the United States, over 70% of merchants accept the tap-to-pay service while in Europe, it is even higher while in Australia, it is a whopping 99% of merchants that accept it.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: